Basic Laws Regarding Seattle DUI Fines And Sentencing - Online Article

Seattle DUI follows the Washington DUI law and implements the same when it comes to punishing DUI convicted individuals. However, there are quite a few issues that need to be considered when a person is faced with an arrest and or is convicted for DUI in Seattle. ‘Will I have to serve jail time? If yes, for how long? Is there any possibility for probation? What are the fines? Will my license be suspended? If yes, for how long?’ – These are the most common questions that every Seattle DUI attorney faces day-in and day-out from their completely ignorant and careless clients.

Here are some of the laws, facts and figures regarding Washington or Seattle DUI fines and sentencing:

First Washington DUI Offense ( Seattle DUI offense)

Jail: for Fist offense not less than 1 day nor more than 1 year of imprisonment. Imprisonment may be deferred or suspended only if the court finds out that it a y cause a substantial risk to the physical or mental well-being of the offender. In that case, the court may order to install an EHM or Electric Home Monitoring device (an alcohol detection breathalyzer may also be included) at the expense of the offender for 15 days.

High BAC: not less than 2 days nor more than 1 year of imprisonment. Imprisonment may be deferred or suspended only if the court finds out that it a y cause a substantial risk to the physical or mental well-being of the offender. In that case, the court may order to install an EHM or Electric Home Monitoring device (an alcohol detection breathalyzer may also be included) at the expense of the offender for 15 days.

Fines and costs:

  • BAC Per se: Not more than $5,000 nor less than $350.
  • High BAC or Refusal of Test: Not more than $5,000 nor less than $500.
  • Additionally, a $125 fee is charged from the individual who has been convicted or given deferred prosecution because of an arrest or sentenced to a comparatively lesser charge. This fee goes to the Washington State Toxicology Laboratory.
  • Another $500 is charged to support the compensation fund for the victim. An estimated 60% of the fine goes to fund safety and education programs. 

License Suspension:

First offense BAC Per Se: 90 days or 3 months

First offense High BAC or refusal of test: 1 year or 12 months

Zero Tolerance Law Violation:

90 day suspension

Conditional License:

1st time offenders are allowed to possess a conditional license only after they

have served the mandatory suspension period.

Second Washington DUI Offense ( Seattle DUI offense)

Jail: jail time – minimum 30 days maximum one year. 60 days of electronic home monitoring.

Fines and costs:

  • Second offense (when BAC is less than .15): minimum $500, maximum $5,000.
  • Second offense (when BAC is at least .15): minimum $750, maximum $5,000.
  • Additional charges are same as for First offense. 

License Suspension:

Second offense BAC Per se: 2 years or 24 months

Second offense High BAC or refusal of test: 90 days or 3 months

Zero Tolerance Law Violation:

1 year or until the offenders age is 21, whichever is greater.

Conditional License:

For 2nd time offenders no conditional licensing is allowed.

However, probation and community service is allowed to DUI evicted individuals only at court’s discretion for both first and second Seattle DUI offenses.

About the Author:

No further information.




Comments

No comment yet. Be the first to post a comment.